Full of Books

A Lineage of Grace by Francine Rivers Review

Title: A Lineage of Grace

Author: Francine Rivers

First published January 1, 2001

Unknown Binding

ISBN: 9780842371100 (ISBN10: 0842371109)

Rating: 4.46


Discover the remarkable stories of five women whose lives were forever changed by their faith in God. In A Lineage of Grace, Francine Rivers masterfully weaves together the tales of Tamar, Rahab, Ruth, Bathsheba, and Mary, demonstrating how their unwavering commitment and courage paved the way for the birth of Jesus Christ.

Despite facing incredible obstacles and societal norms, these women defied the odds to fulfill their divine purpose. Join them on their journey and witness the power of faith and redemption in action.

About the Author

Francine Rivers, a bestselling author, has been gaining popularity and recognition from both the industry and readers worldwide. Her books such as Redeeming Love, A Voice in the Wind, and Bridge to Haven have become bestsellers and have been translated into over 30 languages.

She is a member of the prestigious Hall of Fame of Romance Writers of America and has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW). You can follow Francine Rivers on Twitter at @FrancineRivers.

Editoral Review

Francine Rivers, a bestselling author of inspirational novels, published a collection of five short stories titled A Lineage of Grace in 2001. The book, which is a work of historical fiction, tells the stories of five women in the lineage of Jesus Christ: Tamar, Rahab, Ruth, Bathsheba, and Mary.

Each tale highlights the women’s struggles and triumphs and how they fit into God’s plan for redemption. The first story, “Unveiled,” follows Tamar, who was forced to marry her brother’s wicked son and later disguised herself as a prostitute to become pregnant with the next heir.

In “Unashamed,” Rahab, a prostitute in Jericho, risks her life to assist two Israelite spies and her entire family is saved when Jericho falls. The third story, “Unshaken,” features Ruth, a Moabite widow who follows her mother-in-law to Israel and finds love with Boaz.

A scandalous affair with King David is at the center of Bathsheba’s story in “Unspoken.” The book concludes with the story of Mary, the mother of Jesus, in “Unafraid.”

Rivers creates vivid imagery with her prose, making it easy to picture each character’s life and surroundings. She shines in her depictions of each woman’s character development, especially in their relationships with God.

Each woman struggles with personal challenges, such as societal rules or family dynamics, in a way that makes the reader feel invested in the outcome.

A Lineage of Grace is a book with a strong religious foundation, but it does not feel preachy or overwhelming.

With timeless themes of love, redemption, and faith, the book is a welcome reminder of the value of perseverance in the face of adversity. Rivers seamlessly weaves history and Christianity while retaining the story’s relevancy for contemporary readers.

Though the book is not without its flaws, the stories, especially in the first half, can feel rushed at times, detracting from the emotional impact of each tale. However, this is a small criticism for an otherwise engaging and thought-provoking book.

Anyone searching for a series of inspiring stories about women in the lineage of Jesus Christ will appreciate A Lineage of Grace. Readers who are new to Christian fiction or are looking for a faith-based book that isn’t overly sentimental will also find this collection of stories as an ideal pick.

Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who appreciates well-written historical fiction with a religious twist or inspiration. On a scale of 1-10, I would give A Lineage of Grace an 8.