Full of Books

Acts of Mercy by Mariah Stewart Review

Title: Acts of Mercy

Author: Mariah Stewart

First published August 25, 2009

356 pages, Paperback

ISBN: 9780345506146 (ISBN10: 0345506146)

Rating: 4.17

Overview

Mariah Stewart’s Acts of Mercy is an enthralling romantic suspense novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat. When former FBI agent Sam Delvecchio takes on his first assignment as a Mercy Street Foundation operative, he doesn’t realize he’s about to face a serial killer.

The case is eerily similar to two other killings, and when a fourth victim is discovered, Sam and FBI agent Fiona Summers team up to catch the perpetrator. The killer is staging the church’s seven Acts of Mercy with his victims’ bodies, and as the investigators race against time to prevent the final murders, they receive taunting messages that lead to a spine-chilling revelation.

Perfect for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards, Acts of Mercy is a thrilling page-turner that will leave you breathless.

About the Author

Mariah Stewart is an accomplished author with an impressive resume. She has written forty-one novels and three novellas, earning her a spot on both the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists.

Her work has even been recognized by the Wall Street Journal. Stewart has been nominated for multiple awards, including the RITA for romantic suspense, the Award of Excellence for contemporary romance, and the RIO Award for women’s fiction.

She has also won a Reviewers Choice Award from Romantic Times Magazine and three Golden Leaf Awards from the New Jersey Romance Writers. Her contributions to the genre have earned her a Lifetime Achievement Award from the New Jersey Romance Writers, which puts her in the company of other esteemed authors such as Nora Roberts and Mary Jo Putney.

Stewart’s career began with seven contemporary romance novels, but she found her true calling in writing about murder and mayhem. She feels fortunate to have the best job in the world, getting paid to create stories while working from the comfort of her own home in her sweats and J.

Crew flip flops. Life couldn’t be sweeter for this talented author.

Editoral Review

Acts of Mercy by Mariah Stewart is a gripping novel that weaves a tale of mystery, romance and suspense. First published on August 25, 2009, this book remains a classic in the genre of romantic suspense.

Mariah Stewart is a New York Times bestselling author known for her engaging storytelling, and her latest work is no exception. Acts of Mercy is set in the quaint town of Mercy, in Pennsylvania, where residents are reeling from a series of murders.

The bodies of five women have been discovered, and the small town is in a state of panic. The lead detective on the case, Maggie O’Dell, is a no-nonsense investigator with a reputation for solving complex crimes.

She is determined to find the killer before he strikes again. The book follows Maggie’s investigation and her interactions with the residents of Mercy.

We meet a wide range of characters, including the town’s wealthy elite, a group of nuns who run a local convent, and a young woman who becomes Maggie’s key suspect. Each character has a unique backstory that adds depth and complexity to the novel.

As the investigation progresses, Maggie realizes that she may be in over her head. The killer is cunning and elusive, and she is struggling to keep up with the clues.

Complicating matters further, she finds herself falling for the town’s charismatic Episcopal priest, Father Michael Keller. The novel examines the tension between her professional duties and her personal desires as she tries to solve the case.

Stewart’s writing is both engaging and suspenseful. She skillfully builds tension throughout the novel, leading up to a dramatic finale that will leave readers on the edge of their seats.

The characters are well-developed, and the dialogue is realistic and fluid. The setting of Mercy is vividly portrayed, with Stewart’s descriptions bringing the small town to life.

One of the most impressive aspects of the novel is the way that Stewart tackles complex themes through her storytelling. Acts of Mercy explores the impact of violence on both the victims and the community at large.

Stewart also delves into issues of faith and morality, using Maggie and Father Keller’s relationship to examine the tension between duty and desire. However, there are some weaknesses in the novel.

The pacing is occasionally slow, and there are moments where the plot meanders. Additionally, some readers may find the romantic subplot to be distracting from the main story.

However, these issues do not detract significantly from the overall enjoyment of the book. Overall, Acts of Mercy is a well-written and engaging novel that will thrill fans of both suspense and romance.

It is a compelling read that will keep readers guessing until the very end. For those who enjoy complex characters, compelling themes, and gripping suspense, this book is highly recommended.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Popular Books