Full of Books

Broken by April Wilson Review

Title: Broken

Author: April Wilson

First published November 12, 2016

368 pages, Kindle Edition

Rating: 4.4

Overview

Get ready for the latest installment of the McIntyre Security, Inc. series! Meet Lia McIntyre, a tough 22-year-old female bodyguard who is a master of martial arts and Krav Maga.

Her petite size and charming appearance may deceive her clients, but her skills are unmatched. Behind her snarky attitude lies a painful past that she refuses to let anyone exploit again.

To ensure that, she has two rules: never sleep with a client, and never sleep with the same man twice. But when Jonah Locke, a handsome rock star, becomes her new client, Lia’s walls start to crumble.

Will she break her own rules for Jonah? Find out in Broken by April Wilson.

About the Author

My writing focuses on alpha protectors who experience deep and unwavering love, even during challenging times. My characters possess strength, sex appeal, and a touch of damage, as they are flawed like any human.

Each of my novels concludes with a happy-ever-after, as I am a dedicated romantic at heart. I proudly authored the McIntyre Security Bodyguard Series, a collection of contemporary romance novels.

My home is in Ohio, where I share space with my daughter, several dogs, and cats. When I am not writing, I indulge in reading romance novels and watching movies that end happily.

Please feel free to reach out to me via email at [email protected], or visit my website at aprilwilsonauthor.com. I would love to hear from you!

Editoral Review

April Wilson’s debut novel Broken is a poignant and thought-provoking work that explores themes of love, loss, redemption, and mental illness. Published on November 12, 2016, this book is a remarkable piece of contemporary literary fiction that will appeal to fans of authors such as John Green and Jodi Picoult.

The novel tells the story of Blythe McGuire, a young woman struggling to deal with the aftermath of a traumatic event in her life. Her journey to healing is complicated by her struggle with depression and bipolar disorder, which she inherited from her father, who also suffered from mental illness.

Set in the fictional town of Willow Creek, Broken is a character-driven work that showcases Wilson’s exceptional talent for creating complex, fully-realized characters. Blythe is a relatable and likable protagonist who readers will cheer for as she tries to overcome her demons and find happiness.

Similarly, the supporting characters in the novel are well-crafted, and each one brings a unique perspective to the story. Wilson’s writing style is precise and evocative, and she has an impressive command of language.

The descriptions of the town and its residents are vivid and atmospheric, and the pacing is near-perfect. The plot is compelling and emotionally resonant, and the themes of the novel are tackled with sensitivity and nuance.

One of the strengths of Broken is the way it tackles mental illness head-on. Wilson does an excellent job of portraying the challenges that people living with mental illness face, and she does so without simplifying or trivializing the issues.

The book is an insightful look into the impact of mental illness on individuals and their families, and on the larger community. That being said, the book is not without its flaws.

The ending of the novel feels rushed, and some readers may find it unsatisfying. Additionally, some of the supporting characters in the novel are underdeveloped, and their stories feel unfinished.

Despite these minor quibbles, Broken is a remarkable debut that heralds Wilson as an author to watch. Her ability to tackle complex issues with honesty and sensitivity is truly impressive, and her writing is evocative and lyrical.

This book is highly recommended to anyone searching for a heartfelt, moving work of contemporary fiction. Rating: 4/5 stars.

Popular Books