Full of Books

How to Walk Away by Katherine Center Review

Title: How to Walk Away

Author: Katherine Center

First published May 15, 2018

302 pages, Hardcover

ISBN: 9781250149060 (ISBN10: 1250149061)

Rating: 4.08

Overview

In “How to Walk Away,” Margaret Jacobsen’s life is turned upside down in an instant. Her perfect life becomes a distant memory, and she is left to pick up the pieces.

As she navigates through the challenges of recovery and comes to terms with the harsh realities of her situation, Margaret must confront family secrets and heartbreak that threaten to derail her progress. Through it all, she discovers that love can come from unexpected places and that with resilience and determination, she can build a new life filled with hope and possibility.

Join Margaret on her journey towards healing and self-discovery in this touching and inspiring novel.

Editoral Review

Katherine Center’s How to Walk Away is a heart-wrenching novel that explores the complexities of life, love, and loss. Center is a New York Times bestselling author who has been praised for her ability to capture the true essence of human emotion.

This novel, first published on May 15, 2018, fits perfectly into her impressive collection of heartwarming stories that tug at the heartstrings. The book tells the story of Margaret Jacobsen, a woman who has always been in control of her life until a life-altering accident changes everything.

Margaret is an ambitious young woman who has just secured her dream job and is looking forward to a bright future. However, her life takes an unexpected turn when she becomes the victim of a tragic accident that leaves her with a serious spinal injury.

Her world is turned upside down as she faces the possibility of never walking again. Center’s writing style is both engaging and emotional, and she has a knack for bringing her characters to life through vivid descriptions and relatable dialogue.

The scenes in the hospital immediately after the accident are particularly moving, as we see Margaret struggle with the reality of her situation and the impact it will have on her future. The novel’s themes explore the nature of resilience and the power of love in the face of adversity.

The characters in the book are well developed, and each has their own story to tell. Maggie’s sister Kit, her mother Katherine, and her new boyfriend Ian are all beautifully portrayed and add depth to the story.

Center has created a cast of characters who are flawed but lovable, and readers will find themselves rooting for their success. One of the strengths of How to Walk Away is the way Center looks at the realities of life with a bright hope for the future.

Through Margaret’s journey, the author tackles issues such as perseverance, forgiveness, and the importance of family. She also discusses the concept of identity and the discovery of self in the face of adversity.

While the pacing of the book is somewhat slow in the beginning, the narrative quickly picks up and builds to a climactic ending that is both emotional and satisfying. The plot structure is well thought out, with expertly placed twists and turns that keep the reader engaged until the very end.

In terms of weaknesses, some may find the storyline to be somewhat predictable, as it follows a path that is common in the romance genre. However, Center’s skillful storytelling and emotive writing style more than make up for any predictable moments.

Overall, How to Walk Away is a beautiful and heartfelt read that is perfectly suited to fans of the romance and contemporary fiction genres. The book would be a great fit for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes, who will appreciate the heartfelt emotion and themes explored in the novel.

For anyone looking for a book that is both engaging and moving, this is a must-read. Washington Post gives it a solid 8.5 out of 10.

Popular Books