Full of Books

Magic Knight Rayearth Vol. 1 by CLAMP Review

Title: Magic Knight Rayearth Vol. 1

Author: CLAMP

First published July 20, 1994

163 pages, Paperback

ISBN: (ISBN10: 9796377624)

Rating: 4.1


During a school trip to Tokyo Tower, Hikaru, Fu, and Umi find themselves in a strange and mysterious world. The floor beneath them collapses, and the three students, who attend different schools and are strangers to one another, are transported to a world unlike any they’ve ever seen before.

Faced with magical creatures and evil sorcerers, the trio must work together to uncover the secrets of this new world and find a way back home. Will they succeed in their quest, or will they be forever lost in this fantastical realm?

Find out in Magic Knight Rayearth Vol. 1!

About the Author

CLAMP began as a dōjinshi circle in 1989 with twelve members, but the group dwindled to seven by 1990. Some former members include Tamayo Akiyama, Sei Nanao, and Leeza Sei, who left during the production of the RG Veda manga.

Soushi Hishika, O-Kyon, Kazue Nakamori, Yuzuru Inoue, and Shinya Ōmi were also former members. Currently, there are four members in the group: Ōkawa Nanase, Mokona Apapa, Tsubaki Nekoi, and Satsuki Igarashi.

In 2004, CLAMP celebrated their 15th anniversary as a mangaka group and the members changed their names. Nanase Ohkawa became Ageha Ohkawa, Mokona Apapa became Mokona, Mick Nekoi became Tsubaki Nekoi, and Satsuki Igarashi kept her name but changed the characters used to write it.

The members changed their names simply because they wanted to try new ones. Mokona wanted to drop her surname because she thought it sounded too immature, while Nekoi didn’t like people commenting on her name being the same as Mick Jagger’s.

Ohkawa and Igarashi changed their names to go along with their colleagues.

In 2006, CLAMP had their first public debut in the USA at Anime Expo in Anaheim, California. The group was well received, with 6,000 fans attending their panel.

Editoral Review

Magic Knight Rayearth Vol. 1 by CLAMP is a captivating journey into a fantastical world of magic and adventure.

CLAMP is a group of four Japanese manga artists who have taken the world by storm with their captivating storytelling and beautiful artwork. This manga series has been translated into multiple languages and has gained a devoted following across the globe.

The story follows three ordinary teenage girls – Hikaru, Umi, and Fuu – who are transported to a mysterious world known as Cephiro. In Cephiro, they discover that they have been chosen to become magic knights and must save the kingdom from an evil force.

Along the way, they meet new allies and enemies, and face many challenges that test their strength and courage.

This manga series is an excellent example of the magical-girl genre, with its colorful illustrations and action-packed plot.

It also explores themes such as friendship and self-discovery, making it relatable and relevant to readers of all ages.

The strengths of Magic Knight Rayearth Vol.

1 lie in its character development and plot structure. CLAMP does an excellent job of fleshing out the main characters and making them feel real and relatable to readers.

The plot is well-crafted, with plenty of twists and turns that keep readers engaged from start to finish. The artwork is also stunning, with beautiful illustrations that bring the story to life.

One potential weakness of this manga series is the pacing. At times, the plot can feel slow and repetitive, which may deter some readers.

Additionally, the characters can come across as a bit one-dimensional, with little depth beyond their stereotypical personalities.

Overall, Magic Knight Rayearth Vol.

1 is a must-read for fans of the magical-girl genre or anyone looking for a thrilling adventure story. Its combination of stunning artwork, captivating plot, and relatable characters make it a standout among manga series.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an escape into a fantastical world of magic and wonder.

Rating: 4/5