Full of Books

National Security by Marc Cameron Review

Title: National Security

Author: Marc Cameron

First published November 1, 2011

417 pages, Kindle Edition

Rating: 4.1

Overview

Enaiatollah Akbari was only ten when his village in Afghanistan was taken over by the Taliban. His mother had no choice but to leave him in Pakistan, alone and vulnerable.

What follows is an incredible five-year journey across Iran, Turkey, and Greece, with Enaiatollah facing danger at every turn as he seeks refuge in Italy. His journey is one of unimaginable hardship, with treacherous border crossings and long journeys through freezing mountains.

Along the way, Enaiatollah witnesses heartbreaking scenes of loss and despair. Based on his own recollections, this collaboration with Italian novelist Fabio Geda captures Enaiatollah’s voice perfectly, telling a story of survival and hope with warmth and humanity.

In the Sea There Are Crocodiles is an epic tale of one boy’s resilience, and a powerful reminder of the strength of the human spirit in the face of adversity.

About the Author

Marc Cameron hails from Texas and has had an illustrious career in law enforcement spanning almost three decades. He served as the Chief Deputy US Marshal and has been assigned to various locations across the United States and Canada.

He is a skilled practitioner of jujitsu and frequently imparts defensive tactics training to other law enforcement agencies and common citizens. These days, he resides in Alaska along with his wife and a prized possession, his BMW motorcycle.

Editoral Review

National Security by Marc Cameron is a thrilling and action-packed novel that is sure to captivate readers of the espionage and military thriller genres. Published on November 1, 2011, Camerons book is a prime example of how an author can blend together suspense, politics, and patriotism to create an engrossing narrative that leaves readers on the edge of their seats.

Throughout the course of the novel, Cameron delivers a tightly-woven plot that keeps readers guessing until the very end. The story follows Jericho Quinn, an undercover agent tasked with preventing an attack on American soil by a terrorist organization.

As the plot unfolds, Cameron takes readers on a journey through a range of settings, including the Middle East, Russia, and the United States. Along the way, Quinn and his team encounter a host of intriguing characters, each with their own motivations and hidden agendas.

One of the most impressive aspects of National Security is the way in which Cameron is able to weave together so many different themes and motifs without ever losing sight of the central storyline. From the complexities of espionage to the personal and psychological toll of war, Cameron pulls no punches in his exploration of the human condition in times of crisis.

The characters in National Security are well-drawn and compelling, with each member of Quinns team being given their own unique backstory and motivations. Even the villains in the story are given enough depth and complexity to prevent them from being one-dimensional caricatures.

This depth of characterization is a testament to Camerons skill as a writer and his ability to create truly believable and memorable characters. One of the books greatest strengths is its pacing.

Cameron manages to maintain a breakneck pace throughout the novel while still allowing for moments of quiet introspection and reflection. This gives readers a chance to catch their breath and process the events of the story without ever feeling like the action has come to a complete stop.

There are some weak moments in the book, such as moments when character motivations seem unclear or the plot is overly convoluted. However, these issues are relatively minor and do not detract from the overall quality of the novel.

Overall, National Security is a gripping and engrossing novel that is sure to appeal to fans of the thriller and espionage genres. With its well-crafted plot, memorable characters, and expert pacing, it is a book that is sure to leave a lasting impression on readers.

Highly recommended for fans of Tom Clancy, Robert Ludlum, and Vince Flynn. Score: 4/5 stars.

Popular Books