Full of Books

Shadow’s Fall by Dianne Sylvan Review

Title: Shadow’s Fall

Author: Dianne Sylvan

First published March 27, 2012

325 pages, Paperback

ISBN: 9781937007386 (ISBN10: 1937007383)

Rating: 4.09

Overview

For years, Miranda Grey-Solomon has managed to keep her supernatural identity hidden from her successful music career. But now, her two worlds are colliding and she fears that everything she’s worked for may come crashing down.

The Signet Council has arrived in town for their ten-year summit, and with them comes an old enemy, Prime James Hart of the Northeast. Miranda and her partner David are in for a fight, but things take an unexpected turn when David’s sire, an ancient and powerful vampire, offers them help.

With his knowledge, they may finally have a chance to save themselves from destruction. But will they take the risk, or will they face their inevitable doom?

About the Author

Meet Dianne Sylvan, the talented author behind the Shadow World novel series and two books on NeoPagan spirituality. She resides in Austin, Texas, which she believes is the only sane part of the state.

Dianne is a proud Mac enthusiast, avid fan of froofy iced coffee beverages, and seasoned Twitterer. She describes herself as a Spiritual Nomad, shameless Vampire Diaries (TV) fangirl, happy herbivore, and slightly freaky tattooed postmodern hippie.

She is known to bake exceptional cupcakes, collect vegan cookbooks and wacky t-shirts, and hoard blank journals and obsessions.

When she’s not writing about vampires or surfing the web, Dianne works at a veterinary clinic and volunteers as a bio writing coordinator for Austin Pets Alive, an animal rescue organization. She shares her home with two neurotic cats named Stella and Owen.

Dianne can be prone to hyperbole and fits of profanity, but her dedication to her passions is undeniable.

Editoral Review

Shadow’s Fall by Dianne Sylvan is a captivating novel that explores the complexities of relationships and identity amidst the backdrop of a brewing supernatural war. Published on March 27, 2012, Sylvan masterfully blends elements of urban fantasy, romance, and suspense to create a story that will leave readers on the edge of their seats.

The novel follows Miranda Grey, a powerful witch tasked with leading her coven through a time of upheaval. As she navigates the dangers of her new role, she meets David Solomon, a vampire with a tragic past, and the two soon find themselves embroiled in a forbidden romance that could ignite the very conflict Miranda is trying to prevent.

The setting of the story is modern-day Austin, Texas, with Sylvan using her personal love for the city to create a vivid and immersive world. At its core, Shadow’s Fall is a story about change and the cost of progress.

Sylvan touches on themes of loyalty, duty, and sacrifice as Miranda and David must choose between their desires and their responsibilities. Through the characters’ struggles, she also explores larger questions about power dynamics and morality, making the book not only an entertaining read but also a thought-provoking one.

One of the strengths of Shadow’s Fall is Sylvan’s well-crafted characters. Miranda and David are both complex and multidimensional, with their own personal struggles and motivations.

The supporting cast of witches, vampires, and other supernatural beings paint a rich and diverse picture of the world. Sylvan also does an excellent job of weaving together multiple plotlines, constantly raising the stakes and keeping the reader engaged.

However, there are times where the pacing of the story can feel slow, with too much time spent on character introspection and not enough on action. Additionally, some readers may find the romantic element to be too predictable, although Sylvan does add some twists that keep the love story from feeling like a cliché.

Overall, Shadow’s Fall is a well-written and engaging book that will appeal to fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romance. Sylvan’s writing style is descriptive and evocative, drawing the reader into the world she creates.

Despite some minor flaws, the book is a solid addition to the genre, and the end leaves the reader eager for the next installment in the series. Rating: 4/5

Recommendation: Fans of authors like Charlaine Harris and Nalini Singh will find plenty to love in Shadow’s Fall.

With its mix of action, magic, and romance, the book will satisfy readers looking for an escape from reality. It’s a perfect pick for a weekend read that will leave you wanting more.

Popular Books