Full of Books

The Fallen Series Trilogy by Lauren Kate Review

Title: The Fallen Series Trilogy

Author: Lauren Kate

First published November 1, 2011

1320 pages

Rating: 4.37


Experience the breathtaking love story of Luce and Daniel across time and space with The Fallen Series Trilogy. This stunning box set includes the first three books of the series: Fallen, Torment, and Passion.

Follow Luce as she enters Sword & Cross boarding school and meets the mysterious and alluring Daniel. Despite his efforts to push her away, Luce can’t help but be drawn to him, even as danger looms around every corner.

In Torment, Luce and Daniel must face their past lives and the secrets that threaten to tear them apart. And in Passion, Luce embarks on a journey through time to uncover the truth about their love story and unlock the key to making it last forever.

Lauren Kate’s bestselling gothic romance is a must-read for fans of supernatural fiction. Prepare to fall in love with The Fallen Series Trilogy.

About the Author

Lauren Kate writes novels for readers of all ages, from adults to teens to children. Her works include the romantic comedy BY ANY OTHER NAME and the young adult series FALLEN.

She resides in Laurel Canyon alongside her loved ones.

Editoral Review

The Fallen Series Trilogy by Lauren Kate is a stunning work of young adult fiction that first hit shelves in 2011. Kate, an American author, has created a world of forbidden love and supernatural intrigue that will capture readers’ hearts and keep them hooked from beginning to end.

The trilogy consists of “Fallen,” “Torment,” and “Passion,” and follows the story of Luce Price, a teenage girl who is sent to a reform school called Sword & Cross after being involved in a mysterious fire that killed her boyfriend. Set in modern-day Savannah, Georgia, the Fallen Series Trilogy is a mix of fantasy and romance, with a strong supernatural element.

From the very first page of “Fallen,” readers are introduced to a cast of characters that are both fascinating and complex. Kate’s vivid descriptions of the setting, the eerie reform school, and the dark, brooding angels that populate the story create an immersive reading experience that is hard to put down.

At its core, The Fallen Series Trilogy is a story about love and sacrifice. At the center of the story is the relationship between Luce and Daniel Grigori, a mysterious and handsome boy who keeps his distance from Luce at first.

Their love story transcends time and space, as they are both angels who are reincarnated throughout history. But their love is forbidden, and there are forces at work that are determined to keep them apart.

One of the strongest elements of the trilogy is the character development. Kate takes time to flesh out each of the characters, giving them their own unique personality traits and backstories.

Luce is a relatable heroine, struggling with the weight of her past and the uncertainty of her future. Daniel is a mysterious figure, both aloof and devoted to Luce.

Supporting characters like Arriane, Cam, and Penn add depth and complexity to the story. Kate’s writing style is both beautiful and accessible.

Her pacing is perfect, with just the right amount of action, romance, and suspense. Each book in the trilogy builds on the one that came before it, with “Torment” and “Passion” delving deeper into the mythology of the story.

Kate’s descriptions of the settings and action scenes are vivid and engrossing, and the dialogue is realistic and engaging. One of the strengths of The Fallen Series Trilogy is the way it weaves together historical and mythological elements.

Kate draws on sources like the Bible, Dante’s “Inferno,” and Milton’s “Paradise Lost” to create a unique and captivating universe. Her portrayal of angels and demons is complex and nuanced, and she introduces a host of intriguing concepts like annunciation and the fall of the Watchers.

Overall, The Fallen Series Trilogy is a must-read for fans of young adult fiction. It is an epic love story that is both exciting and poignant, with a richly imagined supernatural world that will appeal to fans of fantasy and paranormal romance.

While the trilogy is not without its flaws – some readers may find the pacing slow at times, or have trouble keeping up with the complex mythology – it is an impressive achievement that will stay with readers long after they finish the last page. For fans of Lauren Kate’s work, or for those who are new to the genre, The Fallen Series Trilogy is highly recommended.

With its engaging plot, well-drawn characters, and beautiful prose, it is sure to satisfy readers of all ages. We give it a score of 4.5 out of 5 stars.