Full of Books

The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning Review

Title: The Fever Series

Author: Karen Marie Moning

First published September 17, 2012

2032 pages, ebook

ISBN: 9780345538277 (ISBN10: 0345538277)

Rating: 4.63


Karen Marie Moning’s The Fever Series takes readers on a dark and seductive journey into a world torn apart by the conflict between humans and Fae. This eBook bundle includes all five thrilling novels featuring MacKayla Lane, a -seer who possesses a rare ability to glimpse beyond the realm of Man and into the dangerous world of the Fae.

When Mac’s sister is murdered, she embarks on a quest for answers that leads her to discover her true identity and a powerful book that holds the key to controlling mortals and Fae alike. But in a world where nothing is as it seems, Mac is soon caught in a deadly trap that threatens her very existence.

As she fights for survival, Mac must navigate a treacherous landscape filled with assassins, mysterious figures, and two powerful men vying for her affections: the ancient Fae Prince, V’lane, and the dangerous Jericho Barrons. But when the walls between worlds come crashing down, Mac is forced to confront her destiny and make a choice that will determine the fate of the world.

With its gripping narrative and steamy romance, The Fever Series is a must-read for fans of paranormal fiction.

About the Author

Karen Marie Moning, a #1 New York Times bestselling author, once dreamt of being the captain of her own starship. However, she was born in the wrong century, so she pursued her passion for exploring the universe through writing fiction.

Her books serve as doors to endless adventure.

Karen attended Purdue University after graduating from the Immaculate Conception Academy. She completed a BA in Society & Law, with minors in Philosophy, Creative Writing and Theatre.

She worked full-time as a bartender and computer consultant while studying. Karen planned on attending law school but decided against it after interning with a firm of Criminal Attorneys.

She worked in insurance for a decade, where she wrote intercompany arbitrations and directed commercial litigation. She realized at age thirty that it was time to get serious and pursue her lifelong dream of writing fiction novels.

Karen published Beyond the Highland Mist in 1999, which was nominated for two RITA awards. She then published six more novels in her award-winning Highlander series and received the RITA Award in 2001 for The Highlander’s Touch.

In 2004, she began writing the #1 New York Times bestselling FEVER series. The books have been optioned twice for potential franchise development by Twentieth Century Fox and DreamWorks Studios.

However, Karen currently holds the rights and has expressed a desire to see it as a television series someday. Her novels have been published in over thirty countries.

Karen divides her time between Ohio and Florida and is working on two future projects for Random House Publishing.

Jorge Luis Borges once said, “I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.”

Editoral Review

Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series is an enthralling urban fantasy novel that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. Published on September 17, 2012, the series consists of five books that revolve around the story of a young woman named Mackayla Lane and her adventure into the hidden world of mystical beings.

Moning’s signature style of storytelling, lively characters, and engaging themes make Fever a must-read for anyone who enjoys dark urban fantasy. The Fever series is set in the mystical world of Dublin, Ireland, where the city is divided into two sections – the human world and the world of the fae.

The story begins with Mackayla, a sheltered young woman, traveling to Ireland to investigate the mysterious death of her sister. She soon discovers that her sister was embroiled in a world much darker than she could have imagined.

As she delves deeper into the investigation and begins to understand the strange and mystical world around her, she realizes that she has stumbled into a world that is far beyond her comprehension. The main character, Mac, is a remarkably resourceful and determined young woman who quickly adapts to the challenges of the world she has found herself in.

The supporting characters are equally engaging, and Moning’s writing is richly descriptive, which brings the city and its inhabitants to life. Moning’s writing is immersive and often poetic, with descriptions of the world and the characters that capture the imagination.

The pacing of the series is excellent, with each book building on the events of the previous one, and the climax of the series is nothing short of brilliant. There are a few minor inconsistencies in the series that might irk some readers, but they are few and far between.

The themes of the series are a mix of dark fantasy and romance, providing enough thrills for both genres’ fans. The series’ overarching theme is the nature of power and its corrupting influence.

Moning deals sensitively with this theme, exploring how characters can be driven to desperate actions in their pursuit of power. Moreover, Moning also explores the nature of love, redemption, and sacrifice, which are central to the story’s romantic subplots.

Comparing Fever to other urban fantasy series is not easy, as the combination of dark fantasy, romance, and compelling theme set it apart. However, the series is bound to appeal to fans of other popular urban fantasy series like the Mortal Instruments and the Dresden Files.

Overall, the Fever series is an excellent read for fans of urban fantasy, supernatural romance, and anyone who enjoys a well-crafted story. With engaging characters, an immersive setting, and thrilling action, this series is highly recommended.

The five-book series is a delightful and welcome addition to the genre, and many readers will undoubtedly be clamoring for more. Score: 4.5/5.0