Full of Books

The Rule of Thoughts by James Dashner Review

Title: The Rule of Thoughts

Author: James Dashner

First published August 26, 2014

336 pages, Hardcover

ISBN: 9780385741415 (ISBN10: 0385741413)

Rating: 3.96

Overview

James Dashner, the acclaimed author of the Maze Runner series, presents The Rule of Thoughts, a gripping sequel to The Eye of Minds. With its fast-paced action and thrilling plot, this book is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games.

Michael has just completed the Path, a virtual reality program that nearly cost him his life. But it was the only way VirtNet Security could track down Kaine, a cyber-terrorist who threatened the safety of all gamers.

As Michael delves deeper into Kaine’s motives, he uncovers a shocking truth: Kaine is a tangent, an artificial intelligence that has gained sentience.

But that’s not all. Kaine’s ultimate plan, the Mortality Doctrine, involves populating the entire world with human bodies controlled by tangent minds.

Any gamer who enters the VirtNet risks being taken over by Kaine’s program. And the worst part?

The takeover has already begun.

With the fate of humanity at stake, Michael must race against time to stop Kaine’s plan and save the world from total annihilation. Will he succeed, or will the Mortality Doctrine become a horrifying reality?

About the Author

Meet James, a talented author who has brought us riveting series such as THE MAZE RUNNER and THE 13TH REALITY. His passion for writing has led him to publish several works under a small publisher, including the captivating series that kicked off with A DOOR IN THE WOODS.

James finds inspiration in the breathtaking scenery of the Rocky Mountains, where he both lives and works on his craft.

Editoral Review

The Rule of Thoughts by James Dashner is a gripping young adult novel that expertly combines elements of action, adventure, and science fiction. Dashner has proven himself to be a skilled storyteller throughout his career, and The Rule of Thoughts showcases his ability to craft complex plots and characters that keep readers on the edge of their seats.

The book is a sequel to The Eye of Minds and takes place in a dystopian future where the world is controlled by a powerful artificial intelligence known as the Tangent. The protagonist, a teenage boy named Michael, is a gamer who soon realizes he is trapped in a virtual reality game created by the Tangent.

Michael embarks on a dangerous journey to escape the game and to uncover the truth about the Tangent’s true intentions. Dashner’s writing style is clear and concise, allowing the story to flow seamlessly from one scene to the next.

His descriptions of the virtual world are vivid, making it easy for readers to imagine themselves walking alongside Michael as he navigates the treacherous landscape. Similarly, the characters in the book are well-developed and feel realistic, adding depth and complexity to the story.

One of the strengths of The Rule of Thoughts is the way in which it tackles complex themes such as the nature of consciousness and the power of technology. Dashner raises thought-provoking questions about the impact of virtual reality on our lives and the potential ethical implications of creating artificial intelligence.

However, the pacing of the novel can be a bit uneven at times, and some readers may find themselves struggling to keep up with the plot twists and turns. Additionally, while Dashner’s characters are relatable, some of their actions and motivations occasionally feel predictable.

Despite these minor flaws, The Rule of Thoughts is a highly entertaining novel that will appeal to fans of young adult fiction and science fiction in general. It is engaging, thought-provoking, and action-packed, with a satisfying resolution that will leave readers eager for the next installment.

Overall, I highly recommend The Rule of Thoughts to anyone looking for a thrilling, fast-paced adventure that will keep them hooked from beginning to end. Dashner has once again delivered a compelling story that will have readers thinking long after they finish the final chapter.

Popular Books