Full of Books

The Wheel of time series by Robert Jordan by Robert Jordan Review

Title: The Wheel of time series by Robert Jordan

Author: Robert Jordan

Rating: 4.59


In a world where magic exists and darkness threatens to consume all, one young man must discover his destiny and learn to wield the power that runs through his veins. With the fate of the world hanging in the balance, he and his companions embark on a perilous journey to confront the forces of evil and bring hope to a land torn apart by war.

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan is a sweeping epic of adventure, love, and sacrifice that will keep you turning the pages until the very end. Join the journey today and discover why this series has captivated readers for over two decades.

About the Author

James Oliver Rigney, Jr. wrote under the pen name Robert Jordan and is best known for his bestselling fantasy series, The Wheel of Time. He also wrote under the names Reagan O’Neal and Jackson O’Reilly.

Jordan was born in Charleston, South Carolina and served in Vietnam with the United States Army as a helicopter gunner. He was awarded several medals for his service.

Jordan attended The Citadel and earned an undergraduate degree in physics before working as a nuclear engineer for the United States Navy. He began writing in 1977 and enjoyed various hobbies such as hunting, fishing, and chess.

He identified as a “High Church” Episcopalian and was married to Harriet McDougal, who worked as a book editor. Jordan was a Freemason but chose not to advertise it due to negative propaganda against the group.

Jordan was diagnosed with cardiac amyloidosis in 2006 and began treatment at the Mayo Clinic. Despite his diagnosis, he remained optimistic about his future.

Unfortunately, Jordan passed away on September 16, 2007.

Editoral Review

The Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan is a literary masterpiece that spans over 14 books in total. Written by Robert Jordan and completed posthumously by Brandon Sanderson, this epic fantasy series has become a cult classic among both young and old readers alike.

First published in 1990, the series went on to become one of the most popular fantasy series of all time, with readers from all over the world getting hooked on the intricate plot, fascinating characters, and rich world-building. The Wheel of Time Series is set in a world where multiple kingdoms battle each other for power and control.

At the start of the series, we meet the protagonist, Rand al’Thor, a simple farm boy who suddenly realizes that he is the Dragon Reborn, a prophesied hero destined to defeat the Dark One and save the world from destruction. Alongside Rand, we are introduced to a host of other characters, each with their own unique abilities, backstories, and motivations.

Together, they must face not only the physical obstacles in their path but also the psychological and emotional challenges of a world at war. One of the most impressive aspects of the Wheel of Time Series is the depth of the characters.

Jordan has created a vast cast of characters, each with their own distinct personalities, strengths, and flaws. As the series progresses, we see these characters grow and change in response to the challenges and obstacles they face.

Rand, in particular, undergoes a significant transformation over the course of the series, as he grapples with his destiny, his relationships, and the forces of evil that seek to destroy him. Another notable feature of this series is the world-building.

Jordan has created an incredibly detailed and intricate world, complete with its own history, religions, cultures, and languages. The various kingdoms, cities, and towns that make up the world of the Wheel of Time are vividly described, with each location having its own unique characteristics and atmosphere.

The magic system, too, is unlike anything seen in other works of fantasy, with its own set of rules and mechanics that make it both fascinating and believable. That said, the series is not without its flaws.

Some readers may find that the plot meanders at times, with certain books feeling slower or less action-packed than others. In addition, the sheer size of the series may be daunting to some readers, with the later books particularly dense and difficult to read.

Despite these minor drawbacks, the Wheel of Time Series is a must-read for anyone who loves epic fantasy. Jordan’s writing is engaging and descriptive, bringing the world and its characters to life in a way that is both realistic and captivating.

The series deals with complex themes such as destiny, free will, and the nature of good and evil, making it not just a thrilling adventure, but also a thought-provoking journey. In conclusion, the Wheel of Time Series is a true masterpiece of fantasy literature, one that has stood the test of time and cemented its place in the canon of the genre.

I would highly recommend this series to anyone looking for an engrossing, epic tale of good versus evil, with rich characterization, world-building, and plot development. While it may be a long journey, readers who take up the challenge will be rewarded with a truly unforgettable reading experience.

I give this series a rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Popular Books