Full of Books

Young Love Murder by April Brookshire Review

Title: Young Love Murder

Author: April Brookshire

First published August 24, 2011

502 pages, Kindle Edition

Rating: 3.84

Overview

Annabelle Blanc is a seventeen-year-old assassin who has never known love, until she meets her latest target’s son, Gabriel Sanchez. Drawn to the wealthy and charming teenage playboy, Annabelle finds herself struggling between her feelings for Gabriel and her upbringing.

But when their worlds collide, they are forced into a dangerous and violent game of deception and murder. In this gritty and intense YA novel, follow Annabelle and Gabriel on their journey of love, betrayal, and heartbreak as they navigate through a world of revenge and danger.

Will their love survive the challenges they face, or will it be just another casualty of their deadly lifestyles?

About the Author

This author specializes in crafting compelling stories within the romance and urban fantasy genres. Among her notable works are the Young Assassins, Beware of Bad Boy, and Dead Chaos series.

Currently, she calls Denver, Colorado home.

Editoral Review

Young Love Murder by April Brookshire is a gripping YA thriller that will have readers on the edge of their seats. Published on August 24, 2011, it is the first book in the series of the Madison Hart Mysteries.

Brookshire is a fantastic author, known for her ability to craft compelling stories with well-developed characters, and Young Love Murder is no exception. The novel follows Madison Hart, a high school student who becomes embroiled in a mystery after the death of her boyfriend Blake.

As she starts to uncover the truth behind his death, she realizes that the people closest to her are not who she thought they were. Brookshire creates a vivid and atmospheric setting, transporting readers to a small town in Virginia, where secrets and lies lurk around every corner.

One of the strengths of this novel is its character development. Madison is a relatable and well-rounded protagonist, who is not afraid to take risks to uncover the truth.

The supporting characters are also well-defined and complex, with their own motivations and secrets. Brookshire is able to create a cast of characters that readers will care about, making their fates all the more suspenseful.

The plot of the novel is fast-paced, with enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing until the very end. Brookshire does an excellent job of balancing the mystery with the emotional heart of the story.

The themes of love, loss, and betrayal are all expertly woven into the plot, making for a satisfying read. One of the few drawbacks of the novel is that some of the plot points feel cliched or predictable.

However, this does not detract from the overall enjoyment of the novel, and Brookshire’s writing is strong enough to carry the story. Overall, Young Love Murder is a fantastic YA thriller, perfect for fans of authors like Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.

It is a novel that will keep readers on their toes, with its well-drawn characters, atmospheric setting, and fast-paced plot. While it may not be groundbreaking in terms of its plot or themes, it is a great example of the genre, and a highly entertaining read.

For fans of YA thrillers, I highly recommend Young Love Murder. It is a book that will appeal to teens and adults alike, and it is one that will stay with readers long after they have finished it.

I give it a solid 4 stars out of 5, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an engaging and suspenseful read.

Popular Books